Winners Announced for the 2016 Honor Awards for Washington Architecture

Chris Patano on November 8, 2016

Winners Announced for the 2016 Honor Awards for Washington Architecture

Last night AIA Seattle hosted the 66th annual Honor Awards for Washington Architecture to celebrate excellence in design. Award-winning projects, announced at a packed event at Benaroya Hall, served as powerful demonstrations of the outstanding caliber of design that is consistently produced by Washington-based architects and designers.

The distinguished jury included Mimi Hoang AlA of nARCHITECTS (New York) and Anna Dyson of the Center for Architecture Science & Ecology, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (New York). The event was moderated by Gundula Proksch, Associate Professor of Architecture at the University of Washington. Co-Chairs for the 2016 AIA Seattle Honor Awards were Kailin Gregga Assoc. AIA & JoAnn Wilcox AIA.

From over 140 submittals, the jury chose sixteen award winners from two categories – built and conceptual. This year also saw the inauguration of the Energy in Design Award to commend projects that have made quantifiably significant strides in energy reduction while also maintaining the highest qualitative design caliber. Across the spectrum of project types, the jury acknowledged the strong design culture represented by both the breadth and quality of submitted projects, and applauded the winners for their conceptual rigor, clarity of design, functionality and discourse with the client base. The Awards of Honor in particular were projects that went above and beyond in terms of conceptual rigor – surprising the jury with their dogged tenacity of how they went about thinking about their program building type. All three rise to the level of innovation on multiple levels

Please visit the Online Gallery to learn more about the projects as well as project team and collaborator information.